Monday, April 23, 2012

Martha Argerich & Friends at the Nat'l Philharmonic Concet Hall - Mozart, Liszt, Zarębski - 17 08 2011

Martha Argerich does not perform solo recitals any more. She always plays with somebody, choosing from a wide array of performers from all over the world.
This time around she presented a mixed bag of music.
In the first half of the concert she played together with Russian pianist Lilya Zilberstein, performing Mozart's Fantasy in D minor KV 608 (arranged for two pianos by Ferruccio Busoni), following up with Liszt's Concerto Pathetique (S. 258)
Two short encores followed - a Valse for 4 hands by Rachmaninov and Milhaud's Brasileira for two pianos from the suite "Scaramouche".

After the intermission, she was joined by an international cast of musicians (excellent Polish violinists Agata Szymczewska and Bartłomiej Nizioł, viola player Lyda Chen (Argerich's daughter) and Russian cellist Alexander Neustroev) to play Juliusz Zarębski's much underrated Piano Quintet in G minor, op. 34.
The Quintet was dedicated to Liszt and is a virtuoso piece of music, falling somewhere between Liszt nad Brahms - the virtuosity is Liszt's, but the melodies are Brahmsian.
Unfortunately, Zarębski did not have an opportunity to develop his career, having died of tuberculosis in 1885 at the age of 31.
Argerich actually premiered the work with other musicians at the Lugano Festival some months earlier.

I had to go to some lengths to remove bits of the overly talkative commentator from in between the music.
The encore was the Scherzo from the Quintet.


Sandflyer said...

FLAC, individual files
~394 MB


dgrb said...

Woah! Seriously interesting repertoire.


Sandflyer said...

My pleasure and thanks for visiting :-)

La Danse de Puck said...

Dear Sandflyer.... Any chance of your re-uploading both this and the other Argerich broadcasts? I'd be so grateful! Thanks in advance... Puck

Sandflyer said...

Yes, of course. I just need to get them organised. Will let you know.

Sandflyer said...

New link: